Book Review – Katie Up and Down the Hall: The True Story of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors into a Family

Katie Up and Down the Hall The True Story of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors into a FamilyI ran across this lovely nonfiction book by Glenn Plaskin when browsing Amazon last Friday night. Little did I know, I’d find it so absorbing I’d stay up very late to finish it.

It’s a simple yet beautiful story about a single man who adopts a dog, although he’d been afraid of dogs as a child. Little by little, he learned how to care for and train the dog. He benefitted from coaching offered by his friends with dogs.

Through his dog’s interactions with others, this man built strong bonds with his neighbors. Neighbors who’d formerly been strangers became part of his extended family. When the author encountered some of life’s inevitable speed bumps, the love of his newfound family and little Katie helped him get through it.

I loved this book. It resonated strongly for me, and in many ways mirrored my jack_littleexperience with Jack. I have formed relationships with so many neighbors, and my neighborhood now offers a strong sense of community for me. I love how people enjoy interacting with Jack. And I get a lot more walks in than I had before!

I strongly recommend Glenn Plaskin’s Katie Up and Down the Hall: The True Story of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors into a Family, especially if you are a dog lover.

Leave a Reply

