Review: Doctor Sleep

Doctor Sleep
Doctor Sleep by Stephen King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I went back and re-read The Shining before I read Doctor Sleep; doing so reminded me that The Shining is really intense and scary. Doctor Sleep strikes a slightly different tone, very suspenseful but not “I’m afraid to turn out the lights” scary. The story is first-rate. It focuses on grown-up Dan Torrance and a little girl with “the shining” whom he helps, not unlike how Dick Halloran helped Dan as a child. I don’t want to give away the story, and will wrap this up by noting I literally couldn’t put this down. I listened to the audible version narrated by Will Patton and his narration made this compelling story even more fascinating. A great read, and highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

