IPhone App Review: NatsuLion

imgres

I recently ran across a new Twitter app: NatsuLion for iPhone. It has a cute little icon, but don’t underestimate this app – it’s well-designed, fast, and full-featured. And did I mention… free?

 

 photo

Like every other Twitter app for iPhone, NatsuLion displays “tweets” from your friends. What sets NatsuLion apart is how much information it packs into each screen: Until I view a tweet directed to me in the main stream, NatsuLion displays the number of replies, direct messages, etc. as a number on the Replies badge at the bottom of the screen.

 photo2

It also color-codes tweets directed to me within the main twitter stream:

Red = Reply

Blue = Direct Message

Yellow = Auto-search on my username

 photo3

Aside from enabling quick “at a glance” viewing of my Twitter stream, NatsuLion provides a variety of settings to enable a personalized experience. For example, “Use Safari” means that NatsuLion opens web sites within the app rather than in Safari (something I find very handy). I like having the ability to fetch 200 messages, and then have NatsuLion fetch even more messages (by enabling “Autopagerize”) if I get to the bottom of the 200 message list. There are 2 themes: Dark and Light – I prefer Light, but Dark is also attractive.

I’ve tried all the major Twitter apps for Iphone (both free & paid), and consider NatsuLion a significant find. It loads fast, helps me identify messages I need to review quickly via color-coding and unread count, and has an attractive, easy to use interface.

Highly recommended. Get it at the iPhone app store here.

3 responses to “IPhone App Review: NatsuLion

  1. Thanks for the review. I downloaded it myself and enjoy it. What’s your favorite Twitter app?

  2. Thanks! Hmmm… tough question. It seems that new and very robust Twitter apps are getting released almost daily anymore. I still like NatsuLion, but have moved on to Tweetsville. In a few weeks, I’ll probably have fallen in love with yet another app.

  3. I’ll have to check this out, I just moved to tweetie, and I find I’m faster and more responsive (might be the iphone mail style UI) – check it out if you get a chance. Plus, I’m a lover of clean graphics, high quality graphics, their simple logo appeals to exactly what it does for me.

Leave a comment